another patient experience

From my nursing blog Caffeine and Xanax:

I had a 25-year-old CFer (person with Cystic Fibrosis) that is in multi-organ failure and for whom we’ve done absolutely everything we can, but he’s dying. His mom knows this. He’s her only child… she doesn’t leave his side. I told her when she was out of the room, that my heart was really hurting for her, because I lost my daughter in December. Later she brought it up to me again, and I told her that she was stillborn, so it was quite a different situation. I didn’t get 25 years to spend with her, but I also never had to watch her suffer. I can’t imagine how awful that truly is, but I <i>can</i> imagine a mother’s grief. I am living it now. No matter how different the circumstances of grief might be, no matter in what manner your child dies, our grief is much more alike than it is different. I read that on By the Brooke, and it has stuck with me. Our grief is more alike than it is different.

Categories: baby loss

1 Comment »

  1. I’m glad you can be there as a support for her. Through my own traumas and losses, I’ve started to learn that those who can truly feel and relate to the true pain others feel, are the light they all need. When my father died, and people said this would make me stronger, I doubted, cringed, and faked a smile. But now, when I can truly share someone’s experience of pain, I realize that it’s a chance for me to help someone carry their burden. We all need someone who truly understands.

Leave a Reply

