cutting carbs out cold turkey

I have a passionate love affair with the three food groups: pasta, bread, and rice. This includes baked goods, tortillas, etc.

I decided that I needed to get control over the addiction. The amount of donuts, bagels, cookies, and cake sitting around free for the taking at work is a carb-oholic’s dream come true, or worst nightmare, depending on how you look at it.

So I haven’t eaten any of those foods for the last week, and I included potatoes in the ban. I’ve eaten lots of vegetables, hummus, yogurt, lentils, cheese, morningstar products, eggs, peanutbutter, etc. And guess what? I feel SO MUCH BETTER. I’m not craving carbs around the clock, not even at bedtime, and I’ve been able to look a box of donuts in the face at work without even being tempted to pick one up.

Eventually I will re-integrate bread, pasta, and rice. I’ll start with whole grains in appropriate portion sizes at one meal a day. Baked goods once in a while.

My days of eating a whole box of spaghetti for dinner are over!

Categories: life in general

7 Comments »

  1. I need to get on that train! I feel – and eventually look – so much better on a no-to-low-grain diet! nicely done… that’s no easy feat!

  2. I’m a couple of months into doing gluten/wheat free, low/no grain, dairy free. I ate some toast with butter last night – SO sick today. Not sure if it’s related or not.

Leave a Reply

