on the foster care front

Apparently, since Jo Jo’s two-year-old half sister is still technically in care (although how that’s possible I don’t know, since she lives with her biological father), they need to have a sibling visit at least once per quarter. I had previously thought these sibling visits were purely optional, but apparently half-sister’s involvement in the case against bio-mom means sibling visits need to happen. I have always wanted to get together with her two half-siblings who live in my area, and hope we can do so throughout her life. I just don’t like the idea of court-mandated visits. Is this just because she has had no visits so far? Does she feel so much like mine that I resist being ordered to do anything with her (even though I wanted to do it on my own in the first place)?

I have one more PRIDE training on Tuesday, then I’m totally done with all the mandatory trainings. In my state you have to complete sessions 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6 prior to getting a license, and then complete 5, 7, 8, and 9 within the first year and a half of being licensed. I am at the year-and-a-half mark. Yes, I’m totally a procrastinator. This last training will have a panel of “experienced” foster parents there to give us the skinny and answer our questions. Should be interesting.

Just prior to PRIDE is the DHS trick-or-treat event. All foster children in the county are invited to trick-or-treat on several floors, with cider and donuts at the end of the route. I think it will be fun to take my child and show her off as the cutest kitty cat in the world. (And get some candy, too.)

We had a playdate with the other single foster mom at my agency and her three-year-old foster son. She made homemade applesauce, which Jo Jo thought was pretty great. It’s so nice to be able to socialize with other moms in very similar situations, as we feel each other’s pain when it comes to visits, judges, reunifications, etc. It’s like a blogger community, but in real life! (Shouldn’t it be the other way around? I should be saying that the blogger community is like a parent group, just online. Oh well, times are a’changing.)

Next court date still in December. All I’m hoping for is a goal change!

Categories: foster care

1 Comment »

Leave a Reply

