my house (in the middle of the street)

Sorry, little throwback to Madness there.

I bought my current house, “The Cottage”, for sentimental reasons. Mainly, I wanted to keep it in the family. No one can ever say for sure what is going to happen to property when people pass away, and I didn’t want to lose the lake access we have when my grandparents are gone. The land has been in our family for 8 generations, and I wanted to preserve a piece of it for myself. The mortgage payment is low, it’s on the lake and beautiful in the summer.

But I have two big problems. The house is small, too small for three people. It’s even small for one person, but with a toddler and my mom being there most of the time, it’s really starting to feel cramped. The other problem is that it’s old and needs a lot of work. Ideally, if I was either much wealthier than I am or had a partner/spouse with a good income, the cottage would be just a summer cottage, and our regular house would larger.

In a perfect world, the inside of my cottage would look like this:

Cauchon Living Room

bathroom

Unfortunately, it looks like this:

wpid-IMG_20131218_085251_812.jpg

As you can see, I have some work to do.

 

Categories: life in general

2 Comments »

  1. I think that we all have things we would love to do to our houses. I was just having a “what I would do if…” daydreams today. I know I wish that I still had my grandmother’s house. Have a wonderful holiday with your family!

Leave a Reply

