still here, inside

This morning I was listening to TED radio hour on NPR on my commute to work. They were discussing mapping the human genome, and the speaker mentioned that the DNA of the fetus remains circulating throughout the mother’s blood for years after pregnancy.

I sat in a daze. He was talking about the human genome and its implications in the future of medicine, but what I heard was this:

“Your daughter is still physically present, in her perfect unique genetic makeup. She is really, tangibly, physically with you, and with every beat of your heart she moves through you.”

The speaker will never understand the spiritual and emotional weight of his words, or what it can mean to a baby loss mom. No matter his intentions when he said it, I am glad I heard it this morning.

Categories: baby loss

4 Comments »

  1. Oh my goodness this brought tears to my eyes. I have also lost a child in pregnancy (many years ago) and I always felt her with me. It’s a great comfort to know that a part of her really was. xx (Thank you for this..for sharing it. You’ve passed that amazing energy onto me). xx

  2. I read about this about a year after losing our son and it brought me so much comfort. I hate that his DNA is all I tangibly have of him, but I love knowing that something of him is still physically present in me.

  3. Isn’t it amazing? I think they said that they found the fetus DNA in an elderly woman. It’s in there for life! They theorize that its presence could possibly ward off attacks on the body, like cancer cells. It’s truly something to marvel at.

Leave a Reply

