my brilliant, clingy child

 

Lately I am blown away by how much Jo Jo knows. Yesterday, for example, she picked up some trash from the floor and took it to the trash can, to throw it away. Then later she did it again. Wow! I didn’t even know that she could differentiate between what is trash/not trash, let alone know where to put it. She’s always wanted to dig trash OUT of the trash can, so as far as I knew, she thought it was a box full of neat stuff she couldn’t have.
 
Her first real word is “hello”, which she only says when holding up a phone to her ear. Actually it doesn’t have to be a real phone at all, it can be her plastic pretend cell phones, or just a square object. Sometimes she pretends to have a phone in her hand by just holding up her hand to her ear and saying, “heeelllo”. So cute! She loves “hi” and “bye”, but she doesn’t say it, just waves it. She waves hi and bye to everything. But yesterday in the grocery store, she waved at another shopper and said, “hi!”. The lady smiled and said hi back. I thought it was just a fluke, that she happened to say something at that moment that sounded like “hi”. But we’ll see. Finally, she says “mmmmm!” when she eats something she likes.
 
My kiddo can play pretend already! She takes the kitty bowl, and pretends to be a kitty eating out of it by bending over and slurping noisily at the (empty) bowl, and then making loud chewing sounds and saying, “mmmm!”. How can someone this small play pretend already?! When she sees a dog she also “barks”, which is very funny. She also likes to reach up and play a little diddy on the piano, after which she gives herself a rousing round of applause.
 
Lately, she has become even more of a mommy’s girl than ever. She now wants me to pick her up and carry her around everywhere, even the house. I guess she is finally over the thrill of walking/running everywhere. This has been helpful in baby music class, because she is finally wanting to sit in my lap more than she is wanting to get into everything! For once, I did not have the naughtiest child in the room. Yesterday I picked her up and just walked in circles around the living room, and she put her head down on my shoulder and just hugged me. It’s enough to break a mother’s heart with joy.
 
I love that she is attached to me, it makes me more happy than anything else, but sometimes when I’m trying to get something done and can’t hold her, it can be frustrated when she screams and cries. She likes to do this ear-splitting screech that just makes me crazy!
Categories: parenting

3 Comments »

  1. Lovely post. 🙂

    Just know that she might not REALLY know the difference between trash and not trash. When something goes missing, like the remote, and you can’t find it, check the trash. 😉

  2. At almost three years, my girl is still in that clingy, screeching-when-I-can’t-hold-her phase! I like to think it will end sometime in the next 15 years…

Leave a Reply

