the parade of workers

It seems like I have entertained a parade of case workers this last month, what with our routine foster care worker and adoption worker visits, and the surprise state audit and subsequent licenser visit. The good news is, the house has been more clean, more often!

As far as adoption goes, we are waiting on consent from the state. Once it is received, we send the petition to the judge. And then she schedules our private adoption hearing… which is only an option every other Friday, and because the 4th is a Friday, they are closed. Also, the judge likes to take long vacations in the summer.

This may take longer than I thought…

I will accept the soonest court date she can give me, although at this rate the “paper adoption” almost seems more appealing. The court form of adoption is an option formality, but I thought it would be a nice ceremonial rite of passage. I’ll wait and see if I get a date soon, and one that is not a year away. Hopefully it’s in the summer, so I can then set up an adoption party at my house, and more people can come (since not everyone can just skip work on a Friday with a last minute notice).

Categories: adoption, foster care

1 Comment »

Leave a Reply

