me time

In general, I don’t even want “me time”. I have to be away from my little girl enough as it is, working time. Sometimes I get away for a movie, or dinner, or whatever, and that’s been good enough. Today, however, I got an unexpected surprise. One of my grandparents’ helpers (we have three) took my kiddo for a bit, and I mowed the grass (I love doing this! So satisfying…) and then got to jump in the lake, by myself, without worrying that my baby was going to drown if I turned my back for 2 minutes!

Pre-kids, prior to summer of 2012 B.C. (before children), I used to lie on my back, floating, listening to my breath and feeling truly, and absolutely, at home in my skin. This is my place, the place where I will always be long. I know the smell of my water, the taste, its colors and shades. When I’m floating in it on a warm summer day, I know who I am and feel at one with the world.

And then I get out, and try to take some pictures for my blog :oP

Looking up at my wide blue sky

Looking up at my wide blue sky

Ahhhh

Ahhhh 

Water selfie. I have no neck in this angle and my boobs are seriously not as big as they look here. They actually barely exist.

Water selfie. I have no neck in this angle and my boobs are seriously not as big as they look here. They actually barely exist.

 

Categories: life in general, parenting

2 Comments »

  1. That last selfie made me laugh, just because of the no-neck. Still, cute smile!

    I love those unexpected moments of “me” time. Lately when I get them, I have no idea what to do with myself. Last weekend I just hopped on my bike and cycled around for the hell of it, just to feel the wind in my hair like I used to. Wish I had a lake to jump in to instead!

Leave a Reply

