my first getaway sans baby

So, I did it, I survived two nights, one full day, and two half days away from my baby, and despite my initial reservations, I didn’t die! (But I did miss her.) We left Friday evening, and by Sunday morning I was missing my baby something wicked. If you live anywhere within 5-6 hours driving distance of the Great Lakes region, you’ve probably been to Cedar Point. Most of us grow up going at least once per summer as kids and teens. I haven’t been in 10 years… I was pretty sure if I tried to go on any roller coasters or rides these days, I’d just be scared and uncomfortable and probably in pain. I’m practically an old lady now. But I surprised myself and still loved the thrill rides, at least the newer ones that don’t rattle my bones.

wpid-img_20140627_202936_835.jpgwpid-img_20140629_134128_890.jpgwpid-img_20140629_105047.jpg

I know I’m old, though, because the best part? Staying on the beach of Lake Erie, swimming in warm, freshwater (I hate, hate, hate swimming in ocean water), having a drink, reading my kindle, and relaxing in good company. What a luxury!

wpid-img_20140627_202204_264.jpgwpid-img_20140628_134946_974.jpgwpid-img_20140627_203052.jpgwpid-img_20140628_145309_768.jpg

If I learned anything from this trip, it’s that I need to lose weight. I had marvelous control, the best I’ve ever had, the whole weekend. No junk food, and ate only half of what I was served the last day at Red Lobster. Go me! Gotta get these thighs to fit more easily into the rides, that’s for sure. Not to mention the humbling experience of wearing a bathing suit all day in front of crowds of people. Ugh.

wpid-img_20140629_095956_844.jpg

Two girls having fun in the sun

Next up, a mini-vacay with little girl in tow to yet another beach town for my 30th birthday! And then 4th of July. I have a week off after tomorrow and I can’t wait.

Categories: life in general

1 Comment »

Leave a Reply

