adoption party and family fun

We had a big bash at my house on the lake a week after the adoption. My uncle was also celebrating his marriage, so it was a double party. Relatives and friends came from all sides of my family, and my head was spinning after planning for and setting up the event (I am really not the big event planning type!). By the time the first guests arrived, I was exhausted and ready for bed! Then it was a whirlwind of socializing, trying to meet and greet everyone for at least a few minutes. The kids really enjoyed swimming and playing on the “beach” I created, and there was more food than I expected, and plenty to drink. M had a lovely family “tree” with thumbprints from everyone who attended, a beautiful “Home Forever” cake to match the one she had made for her at the adoption ceremony, and a display made up of photos, the framed order of adoption and adoption poem, and a rocking horse that has been passed down from a dear friend. Her chest is still being made, so I didn’t display the quilt (made by my great-great-grandmother for my grandmother when she was a baby), but the quilt was presented at the adoption ceremony. I also had a locket made with a photo of mom and daughter and the adoption date.

We got nearly $400 in donations for her college fund, only a few toys (thank goodness), and a membership to our local hands-on-museum!

Our family from New Jersey was in town with their two boys (also adopted). M was smitten! We have since been trying to soak up everything that is left of summer, knowing that chilly weather will soon chase us inside for a long winter again (ok I know this, M does not).

Categories: adoption, life in general

2 Comments »

Leave a Reply

