Potty training

I’m not in any rush to potty train right now. M isn’t even two yet. But on the other hand, I want to give her the opportunity to start if she IS ready. At 12 months I tried putting her on her potty ( the kind that goes over the real toilet with steps) but she didn’t like it. So we put it away. At 18 months I brought it back out and she now loves to climb up there, sit down, and make a pssshhhhh noise to imitate peeing sounds. She has yet to go in there, though.

She has also been watching her 2 and 3 year old cousins and friends, as well as me, and we have some potty books on our wish list. The thing is, she still doesn’t connect the act of peeing or pooping with sitting on the toilet, but I figure we are still off to a good start. She even wears pull up diapers.

Hopefully by age 2 she will start understanding what she’s supposed to do up there! I’m just trying to keep it fun for now.

P.S. She pooped in the bathtub the other day. Gag!!!

Categories: parenting

3 Comments »

  1. Evelyn will pee in the potty when I remember to put her on, about 1/2 the time. She definitely knows pee comes out of her vulva and poo comes out of her bum. But she doesn’t really show any signs of potty training readiness. For example: she pooped in the tub the other night, too. I was seriously gagging.

    • Well we gotta get our girls together so they can swap skills! M hasn’t made the pee/poo anatomy connection but she loves to go through the motions, she’d do it every hour if I let her!

      And oh my god… Her pasty poop got lodged in the drain… Had to use a drain to dig it out. I am a nurse who cleans poop on a daily basis, but pasty poo in my bathtub drain??? Puke.

  2. I potty trained my daughter at 18 months. (My son is REFUSING to go at 2). When winter comes I will get more serious with him. But I just keep their bottoms naked and an Ikea potty in every room in the house. Good luck, she’ll figure it out.

Leave a Reply

