mommy’s little traveler and potty training

I had no expectations for potty training on our trip. I figured I’d keep her in pull-ups and offer the potty when it was available, or take her when asked, but no big deal if nothing happened or we back-tracked in progress. To my surprise, the opposite happened. In the last three days my girl has been nailing the potty thing, peeing and pooing on the potty almost every time she sits on it. Her stage fright seems to be gone, and she is able to now release her bladder on command. Yesterday she had one dribble in pants before making it to the potty, and today she’s had none! This includes trips to indoor kids’ places where she asked to and used the potties there. She even napped without a diaper or pull up and woke up dry, then went to the bathroom and poo’d and peed where she was supposed to. She is super proud of herself, running around getting high fives and shouting, “yay! potty!” I’m not giving her any rewards other than positive feedback.

And to think, I brought no undies for this trip… but it seems she’ll be ready for them when we get home!

I keep thinking about how lucky I am to have such a flexible child. I know it’s pure luck, and nothing I did or didn’t do. She just has the type of personality that allows her to feel secure wherever we are, as long as she’s with familiar faces. She needs her baba and a pacifier for bedtime (just to hold, she only sucks it sometimes right before sleep), but she’s fine in whatever bed, at whatever time, as long as I’m there. She will take her afternoon nap (1-2 hours) wherever, or not if we’re too busy. She loves seeing new things and going new places. She plays happily wherever we are.

It’s obviously not all roses. When she gets too tired, she gets violent with other kids. She has tantrums, she has accidents, she doesn’t share, and she takes things from other kids. She sits in time out here and there. But being on vacation doesn’t seem to change her norm, and sometimes it even helps, because she’s more distracted. Makes me afraid to have more children, because I don’t think I’d do well with a child who never wanted to leave the house!

Categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Totally awesome! Carter decided last week he uses the potty now and sure enough he does. It’s pretty mind blowing.

    I think that travelling with toddlers seems so much more intimidating than it actually is. Sure, it’s a lot of work and it’s a lot of stuff but it’s also a totally new environment and kids love that stuff!

    Enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

