two really is greater than one!

I really wasn’t a huge fan of the age 14-22 months. Entering toddlerhood, my kiddo was having a lot of meltdowns. She was mobile enough to get everywhere and into everything, but not verbal or mature enough to get her point across. She wasn’t easily distracted and wasn’t that interested in pleasing me or imitating me. She wanted what she wanted NOW, and it was always something she wasn’t allowed to do. Many people/books assure parents that the terrible twos actually occur before age 2, and then improve. In M’s case, this was true.

As she started nearing her second birthday, M became a little easier to get along with. She’s still a drama-queen a lot of the time, she still does a few things she knows she’s not supposed to, but her communication skills have improved enough that we can now somewhat understand each other. She can usually tell me exactly what she wants and I can usually tell her yes or find a way to interest her in something else. Or she just knows when no means no, has a pout session, and moves on. She still gets into things, but so much has been baby-proofed, and she is also able to find a lot more to do that interests her that she is allowed to do.

She is still a little behind the game as far as talking, but not far. I know there are two-year-olds out there who are speaking in sentences, and M isn’t really putting two words together yet, except for “bye so-and-so” and “hi so-and-so”. When she does speak in sentences, I have no idea what she’s trying to say. It’s babble, but has all the tones and inflections of English. She says more (actual) words than I can count, though, and adds new words or expressions every day.

I adore this stage because she’s directable, and fun. I can say, go put this away, or give me that, or hold the dustpan, and she does it. She loves to “help” and sometimes it really is helpful! She now succumbs to routine without so much of a fight. She tells me at night that she’s ready for “baba” and “nigh nigh”. At nap time, I say “lie down and sleep” and she does it. Really, it seems like a miracle every time! At night she curls up next to me, my cuddly snuggle bug, sometimes even kisses me or strokes my cheek. It just kills me. She eats vegetables and fruits, rarely throws her food, and signs clearly that she’s done so she can leave, rather than just tossing everything onto the floor.

I just love, love, love to hear her sing. She does not carry a tune, whatsoever, but her little face is so sincere and solemn. She also immitates my movements during any song. So if I pump my fist during “root, root, root for the hoooome team” (take me out to the ball game), I’ll see her studying me and copying my movements. It cracks me up every time! Right now she sings “Twinkle, twinkle”, “Lips Are Movin” by Megan Trainor, “Let It Go”, and “Can’t Wait to be King” from the Lion King.

And she finally figured out how to show two fingers with her hand, so now she’s running around flashing the peace sign and shouting, “two!” Pleased as punch with herself.

Seriously she’s so much fun right now, I just want to freeze time for a bit and keep her this way. I feel like I won the daughter lottery!

Categories: Uncategorized

1 Comment »

Leave a Reply

