my kid is “that kid” and I don’t give a $%#$

For some reason, the gymnastics instructor has decided to make the 2-3 year-olds be in her “recital” this spring. (Recital? For gymnastics and cheer? So confused.) Cue flashbacks to Toddlers in Tiaras. At first, the other moms and I just scoffed and said “yeah, right”. She then said maybe she’d dress the kids up as Nemo and put a bubble maker on stage and just have them run around and catch bubbles for a few minutes while a tune played. We thought that might work, but I still wasn’t committed. Since then it has morphed into all the kids standing in buckets, singing several rounds of “Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes”. The point is that they’ll look adorable, obviously.

Here’s the thing… my girl is NOT going to just stand in a bucket and docilely go through the motions of the song five times. This is just ludicrous. Not to mention it has nothing to do with gymnastics. I’m not interested in making her do “recitals” or pageant-like things unless she wants to. If this was a gymnastics meet and they wanted to have the toddlers come out and jump on trampolines and do the low beams and other stuff for 10 minutes, I’d say sure. It would be cute and fun for them. But singing a song all dressed up in front of a crowd sounds like something not only unappealing to M, but possibly terrifying. So no thanks.

So the last 5 minutes of class or so is spent doing this routine, and true to herself, M runs in circles around the other kids and the mat, jumps non-stop, runs up next to the instructor and imitates her for a minute, then keeps running. The other 2-year-olds? They stay in their buckets and do the song! For like… 7 minutes straight! I’m flabbergasted. Maybe M is way more hyper than the average 2-year-old, maybe they are more mature, or maybe M just doesn’t want to do it, I don’t know. But all those  little 2-year-old angels standing in a row in their buckets sure did make my girl look crazy as she ran in circles non-stop! But I don’t care. I know she’s smart, very focused on what she’s interested in, she’s not hyper, just full of energy when she’s having fun or doing something exciting. It just looked like a commercial for ritalin or something, and I don’t like putting her in that type of environment.

As far as actual gymnastics goes, M is really doing great! She actually walked across the uneven bars (hands on the upper bar, feet on the lower bar) without help! She also did several cycles of the actual beam circuits (usually she refuses to go in order, which is fine), and I was super proud of her for waiting nicely for her turn, going in order, and trying everything. She did a whole floor circuit too, getting really good at tumbling forward and learning how to log roll!

At the end of class for the parachute, she refuses to sit on it, preferring to hold the outside with the adults. Just like myself when I was growing up, I’m pretty sure she doesn’t see herself as a kid, just one of the adults!

Categories: parenting

5 Comments »

  1. Skip it! If she isn’t going to have fun with the “recital” then don’t go. I agree that it is stupid. My kid would either cower in a corner or run in circles. He is currently jumping and running and making up words at home.

  2. Your daughter is her perfect self. Congratulations for a job you are doing well. No reason for her to attend the ‘event’ either.

  3. Totally agree – my worst parenting moments have been when I went against my gut and expected my kids to do something that we didn’t care about to maintain someone else’s status quo. Hell with that nonsense, and anything else that leaves either of you feeling like she doesn’t compare. You’re both amazing, and your focus on staying true to yourselves and each other is a big part of why!

Leave a Reply

