should I re-name this blog “Adventures with M”???

In a month we are off to Germany! I’m super excited. In the meantime, here’s the stuff I plan to do…

-Swim a lot in the lake (just got M an inflatable turtle, I had an alligator as a kid)
-Go strawberry picking
-Go to a metropark and spend the day at the beach, petting farm, nature trail, and splash pad there
-Visit one of the other nearby zoos we haven’t been to yet (there are 4 total)
-Go to the farmer’s market in the city where I work, and maybe the petting zoo there
-Hit up the nature center there, which has a nature trail, reptile/critter house, and bird enclosures
-Visit our local buffalo farm which offers horse rides
-Have a bbq for my house on my birthday (July 2) and then watch fireworks over the lake that night (let M stay up)

We are starting music lessons again after our six month hiatus (here’s to hoping some maturity will quell the bad behavior and general antsy-ness that caused said hiatus). M is now singing a lot and acting out songs. We practice the songs we used to do in music class all the time, and she loves it, so I’m hoping she’ll enjoy it again. I’m also hoping she won’t hug everyone like before, but I need to have a plan in place for that. Maybe I can ask the other moms to please redirect her to give high fives and to gently and kindly remove her from their laps. Now that she’s older I will set her up beforehand with a talk about no hitting, or squeezing (hugging) the other kids, to be gentle, gentle, gentle. And also to sit with mama and wait her turn!

Categories: parenting

3 Comments »

  1. I talked with my friend. She said she has been trying to teach her son to ask before giving hugs or otherwise encroaching on someone’s personal space. Forgot to tell you that before!

    • Yeah, I have started doing the same. When an APS worker came out (for my grandparents and that drama) M once again was trying to hug and climb on her. I stopped her and told her to give a high five. The lady kept saying, “no it’s fine! it’s great!” and I explained that I was teaching her to respect people’s private space.

Leave a Reply

