Fun New Year survey

1. What did you do in 2015 that you’d never done before?
Experienced “potty training”, and all of it’s backward and forward movements, as well as its triumphs!
Flew on an airplane with a toddler by myself (I hope to never repeat this after this year).
Made my own daal bhaat, succesfully.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
According to my blog, I didn’t have any. I’m sure I did have a few but hopefully I accomplished them all or they became irrelevant! (Or they are just ongoing, like losing weight…)

3. Goals for 2016:
True, I’m going to try to lose the 10lbs I lost after Germany (and then re-gained).
Read and play music in front of M on a regular basis.
Save $$$ with thriftiness and spending only on gas, groceries, experiences, and books (for me).
Go to Nepal and maybe a few other places.
4. Did anyone close to you die?
The only person who died was my grandparents’ dog Riley, and two of our cats (Shakespeare and Caesar).

5. What countries did you visit?
Canada, and Germany.

6. What would you like to have in 2016 that you lacked in 2015?
More quality time playing with my daughter. Less drama (always) and more money (always).

7. What dates from 2015 will remained etched upon your memory?
No dates in particular, but I will remember M’s first trip abroad forever!

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
The potty training was more M’s biggest achievement. Mine was beginning to cook from scratch at home regularly, and it actually tasting good. I don’t like cooking, but at least I don’t exactly hate it anymore! I became a much better parent, and I put a lot of work into it, with pretty good results as far as dealing with my kid’s behavior, her behavior improving, and both of us being less stressed.

9. What was your biggest failure?
I ended a relationship, and it was the second time I’d ended it with the same person. I’m not saying I wish I hadn’t, but it caused a lot of pain, even for me.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Both M and I had a wicked bronchitis, with M going into two ERs. I had a bad stomach bug last month but luckily M didn’t get it.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

The ingredients for daal bhaat, including basmati rice, Indian yogurt, garlic, ginger, cumin, Himalayan sea salt, and lentils. Also, our airfare to Germany.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Mine. I straightened up our diet, my disciplinary techniques, and found M a better pediatrician. Go me!

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

I got into quite a fight with my dad over his right-winged, culturally conservative (ahem, bigoted) viewpoints which resulted in us not being facebook friends anymore.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Gas, as usual. Second, groceries. Third, travel. Fourth… Christmas.

15. What did you get really excited about?
Getting M’s very first passport!!!

16. What song will always remind you of 2015?
Probably “Hello” by Adele and “Wildest Dreams” by Taylor Swift

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
– happier or sadder?  I was pretty happy at this time of year last year, but I’m probably happier in January 2016 because I’m not in grad school now.
– thinner or fatter?  The same, which isn’t good. But at least it’s not fatter.
– richer or poorer?  The same, meaning I haven’t decreased my debt by much.
18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Preparing meals and snacks for day trips and work, so I didn’t eat crap or spend money.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
School. It was a waste of time.
20. How did you spend Christmas?
Christmas Eve in the ED with my grandma, Christmas day we went back in the afternoon. I played with M and her new toys.
21. Did you fall in love in 2015?
No.

22. What was your favorite TV program?
I was super excited to get another season of OITNB!

 

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Pretty much no.

24. What was the best book you read?
Infidel by Ayaan Hirsi Ali for sure!

25. What was your favorite musical discovery?
No music discoveries here.

26. What did you want and get?
I got pretty much everything realistic that I wanted, besides what’s listed in #27.
27. What did you want and not get?
Matching new luggage for myself and M. A new passport holder. To meet M’s baby brother.
28. What was your favorite film of this year?
Honestly I saw very few movies this year that weren’t for children.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I had cake and a little BBQ on my lake, my kid blew out my candles with me, and it was just low-key. I turned 31.
30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying [besides your first daughter being alive]?
Having all my travel paid for. Yep.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2015?
Sometimes I wore jeans (instead of pajama pants) and boots and put make-up on. I shaved half my head!

32. What kept you sane?
A glass of wine at night, travel to look forward to, those times when my daughter says “I wuv you!” and gives me kisses.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Ayaan Hirsi Ali.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
Well it’s not political, but the earthquake in Nepal hit closest to home for me. Otherwise, it was the question revolving around “Is Islam a Religion of Peace” and the roots of religion-based terrorism.

35. Who did you miss?
I didn’t get to see some of my oldest friends much this year. I missed my family in Nepal a lot. Mostly, I just missed being around people.

36. Who was the best new person you met?
I made a new mom friend at the playground, unfortunately our friendship didn’t last. Otherwise, I met an intern who is going to make a world-class doctor!

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2015.
Cooking for myself isn’t the end of the world. Some kids really do turn into monsters when they eat sugar/dye, it’s not all in the parents’ head. And finally, discipline is possible without punishment.

Categories: life in general

Leave a Reply

