scarred for life

I was so positive about the whole hair cut thing. She continued to be enthusiastic about it even as we headed to a child salon with little cars and the TVs and toys. I realized soon after that when they charge $15 for baby’s first hair cut, they did not at all mean the equivalent of a grown woman’s thick mane on a two-year-old head. They booked 15 minutes for what actually took well over an hour. They seemed unprepared, mentally, for an almost three-year-old and less than forgiving when she decided she was done one third of the way through.

And by done, I mean done. Thrashing, jumping up, yelling. They told me it was taking too long and that I had to hold her (they were closing soon). So the rest of the haircut was nothing short of torture for both of us. She screamed all the way home, furious that she’d been held down, and I’m lying in bed letting her eat an entire box of wheat thins cause I’m so over life right now.

What started out as my effort to respect my daughter’s body autonomy turned into the worst parenting scene (and worst haircut) ever. She is completely indifferent about the state of her hair, so she’s not even glowing with happiness the way I’d thought she would be. Rather, she’s pissed off at me for not letting her leave the salon with half long and half short hair when she was ready. And I’m pissed at her for biting/kicking/hitting me and forcing me to drag her out of the place (because she was on the floor in full tantrum mode). And I’m pissed at myself for not being more compassionate with her. Oh and I’m pissed at the hair because if she really doesn’t even care, why did we go through with this awful idea? Now we’re both completely mad, the hair is awful, and I had to pay money for the misery.

Just goes to show, parenting never goes the way you plan.

Categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Oh no! I didn’t even think how she might hate getting it done. Wallace’s two cuts were done by a friend as he sat on my lap and was all very relaxed. No pomp and circumstance. Tomorrow you can apologize to each other and talk it out in her post wheat thins binge state. I think her hair looks cute but that long bit is going to bug her.

  2. I don’t think it’s a bad haircut at all but man that sounds like a terrible experience.
    Carter hated haircuts and I’d have to hold him in my lap with my arms tightly wrapped around him which made me feel totally awful but like you I didn’t want to walk out with it half done. I started bringing him to the salon with me when I was getting mine done and he’d sit their with his iPad. Occasionally someone would interact with him or bring him a candy but mostly he just chilled by himself occasionally looking up. The next time he needed a haircut I brought him there (and sucked up the cost of it). He sat pretty still in the chair by himself silently critiquing the job she was doing.

    I think the fact that you were dealing with so much hair to begin with must have made everything worse. I hope she gets a little better with it if she opts to keep short hair.

  3. I’m so sorry it didn’t go like you’d planned! I hope someday you can both laugh about it. And while it may not be what you wanted, it’s cute in the pictures!

Leave a Reply

