I used to be the opposite of a “kid person”

One of my best friends is here, and she likes to remind me of how I used to feel about children. When I stayed with her in Nepal, she had what seemed like dozens of nephews running around her house. I thought it was crazy-town and those kids were wild. Then she was a nanny here in the US for four children. I used to spend the night with her and complain about the children “being loud and wild all the time”. My friend would always say to me, “No they’re being good, this is just how children are!” I guess karma really came to get me, because now I’m the one rolling my eyes at adults who can’t tolerate what I consider “normal” child behavior.

M has been so good, in my opinion. She does cause some heartbreak as she constantly runs to my grandpa’s bed and pleads with him, “Bapa? Wake up!” She’ll look at me and say, “It’s ok mama, Bapa get better soon.” Whenever she senses that someone is sad, she’ll hug and kiss them and tell them “I love you”. Her empathy makes me so happy. It’s going to be quite a challenge to explain where he went after he’s gone.

We’ve had lots of family and friends coming to visit, and it’s been quite a whirlwind. M has been entertained even though we haven’t gone anywhere really, except to her school or swimming or gymnastics. (That qualifies as “hasn’t gone anywhere” for us.) We even had my friend and her son (one year younger than M) over for the night and they had a great time together, and even went to sleep without a problem!

Categories: parenting

1 Comment »

Leave a Reply

