so grown

It blows my mind that my daughter is now old enough to a) clip her own nails and b) tell me to stop talking about her when I’m speaking with other adults. Wasn’t she a baby like 3 hours ago???

Today we had another pediatrician appointment. We are now adding the B6 and methionine into the mix. Everything is micro doses and slowly being added so she doesn’t become OVERmethylated. I somehow mentioned that I am always exhausted and have slept too much my whole life, and he talked me into taking SAM-E and iodine as well. It’s safe so… I’ll give it a go.

We went to the home of my third cousin because she is also going to start watching M part of the days when I work (to relieve my mom of the long 14 hour days that are so stressful alone with a super active 3-year-old). So now most weeks my mom will have a lot of relief and M will have a lot of time socializing with other kids. She’s so social and full of energy that playing hard with other kids for part of the day is necessary for her mental health and her sleep on a daily basis. My cousin has four young children, a house way out in the country away from roads, with chickens and a giant trampoline and swings and, well, M was pretty much in heaven and didn’t want to leave! My cousin also left her teaching job to homeschool her kids, so sharing similar values around education and healthy eating made me very happy and comfortable with leaving M there. Also, we’re family and I know for a fact she’s a great person.

I’m about to be a lot poorer but I think my mom, M, and I will all be less stressed and be able to spend our time together more happily. M will make friends with more children and I will feel more connected to other moms who parent much like I do.

Now, this child behaved amazingly for the doctor, ate asparagus and rice for dinner, took a bath all by herself, didn’t fight me on getting pjs on, read three books with me, said, “Goodnight mommy!” and fell immediately asleep. This is such a rare golden day for us, so I’m going to fall asleep thanking my lucky stars.

2 Comments »

  1. I’m so glad you have a good day. I find it makes the bad days not so bad. Hoping you have many more great days

  2. Just what Elizabeth said! I wish it was as easy to focus on days like this one as it is to focus on the hard days.

Leave a Reply

