our sweet spot

Life with a strong-willed three-year-old never lacks in challenge, so today I’m writing about all the good stuff! Since this is for my own record keeping, I won’t be offended if you stop somewhere after the first paragraph.

M is in such a sweet spot right now. Her tantrum-y moments are, for the most part, only very brief episodes now. She’s usually so incredibly sweet and helpful, always saying, “I love you mommy!”, “I miss you!”, and “You’re my faaaaavorite!” She also brings me flowers, gives me so many kisses and hugs, and does things like get me a cup for my coffee without me asking. She melts my heart, and I feel so lucky to have such a sweetheart on my hands. She’s my #1 and I’m hers!

wp-1461685802830.jpg

What happens when my niece tries to sit next to me for a minute… Little Miss Jealous can’t handle it

This is a great age if I were to consider having more kids (sidenote: I’m not). A baby with a two-year-old would be like hell on earth, but three-year-old M would be doable. She loves fetching me things, likes babies nowadays and helping with them, sleeps through the night, and entertains herself sometimes. It wouldn’t be easy, but waiting until the oldest is 3 seems like the most doable plan in my mind if I was going to have more. Hats off to my best friend whose son just turned two and who just became a big brother last week!

M is also so much fun (as I always say). She is playing soccer (and by this I mean chasing the ball back and forth and wandering around the field), plays for real games on her kindle now (The Good Dinosaur has a great dodge the hay bale game that she can totally do better than I can), spends hours at the pond’s edge after frogs and turtles with her nets, and can operate a power wheels like she’s been driving her whole life. I no longer have to keep things like remotes, or portable dvd players, away from her, because she can operate them now without abusing them too much.

wp-1461685816977.jpg

Her remote control car does some spiffy stuff… it’s hard for me to get but she’s doing just fine!

My meeting with the teacher for conferences was nothing but glowing. M is happy, loves her friends, affectionate, and most of all, has a big heart. I love watching her empathy blossom as I tried so hard to foster it at home. She is the first to try to help someone who has tripped and fallen, asks if people are ok, and apologizes now when her rough motor skills causes an elbow or heel to land on someone. She is obsessed with bones and boo boos, and with a combination of healthy fear and her new upscale car seat, she finally has stopped sliding the chest clip down and taking her arms out!

M seems to be more and more afraid of bugs and spiders (although still fascinated by them) and still pretty concerned about “ghosts, witches, boogey-man, and monsters”, although she likes to read about them and watch them on TV. She is very cautious around roads, always has been, much to my relief (obviously I hold her hand anyway). She will go on and on about how it could break her bones. She’s not as much of a daredevil as I thought she’d be… she’s pretty cautious at first with potentially dangerous situations.

wp-1461685798100.jpg

Morning coffee together

At night, now, she actually wants to read. Thank god, because I used to encourage and encourage and now I don’t have to. She loves The Gingerbread Man, and Little Red Riding Hood (anything with a plot line where someone gets eaten). The lift-the-flap series includes Three Billy Goats Gruff, Three Little Pigs, Hansel and Gretel, The Ugly Duckling, etc etc and I plan to get them all. Her other favorite is “Actual Sizes” (actual sized illustrations of huge and tiny animals) and “Jump Frog Jump”, about catching frogs of course.

She’s an awesome eater and great helper in the kitchen. I still have to be right there while she pours and sprinkles, of course, but it has become our routine to chop, peel, boil, sautee, and bake together. She is a huge fan of veggies sauteed or roasted with garlic and ginger, simple pasta and sauce, crunchy vegetables pre-cooked, salad, chicken, yogurt, cereal, apples, and corn on the cob. Naturally, she is obsessed with “treat”, which for her means naturally colored fruit snacks.

wp-1461685808564.jpg

My sweetie-pie ready for school

I no longer dread staying home with her all day (although I sometimes dread coming home after a long day of work and she’s still awake!) and I look forward to playing with her and spending time together, as it should be, but as parents you know we don’t look forward to this in every stage! (*cough* age 2).

If you read this far, you’re pretty awesome, because this post is mostly for posterity and my own memory!

Categories: life in general

4 Comments »

  1. Knowing – through the blog – about some of your struggles actually makes this a very sweet read! So happy you guys are having some good times together – you really worked for them!

    And is that a thunder tumbler? πŸ˜€ My daughter loves hers, too!

  2. I love reading this, too–and I was just thinking the other day about how it would have been so much easier for me to have had a baby when Zuzu was 3 (or almost 4) rather than when she was 2. Timing was a little tricky, and of course I wouldn’t change it now, but whew. Some people say 3 is harder than 2, but that was not the case for Zuzu, either!

Leave a Reply

