don’t eat the donut (and parenting moments)

First, I have stopped eating breads, pastas, rice, and potatoes. Basically, the staples of my life. Right now there is a box of delicious donuts in the break room, but I ate my hard boiled egg. My willpower feels fragile and cracked… but I’m fighting on. I will lose this panus if it kills me.

Second, I had some parenting moments in the recent past that made me want to write. Last night M was wound up when I got home from work. I let her watch her iPad and play on it for about an hour, then made the executive decision to turn the lights out. I explained it to her. I removed the iPad. She cried, a lot. I offered to read her a book and she took me up on it, but then cried when it was done. With the lights off she asked if I’d rock her in the rocking chair, and I did. Eventually we moved into the bed and she fell asleep. It took a long time, but honestly it probably would’ve been longer if I’d let her have a tantrum and not compromised in any way. So I feel good about that.

With daylight lasting until after 10pm nowadays, my kiddo isn’t willing to go to sleep until much later. I don’t mind her staying up late if she sleeps in, because I’m most tired in the morning and feel much better if I sleep until 10 or 11am. So on our days off, since there’s no preschool, we’ve been doing this. It’s awesome! Until I have to wake up at 5:30am for work. Then it’s not awesome at all.

Then there’s the fallout from working three days in a row. She’s not a happy camper and she’s going to let me know it at bedtime! Luckily we have a long six days without me working afterwards.

Categories: parenting

5 Comments »

Leave a Reply

