the physical toll

My week of grieving, funeral prep, and hosting family members took its toll on my physical heath. I came down with a cold last week and it’s hung on mightily. I go to work and somehow rally to get through, but on my off days I’ve been slammed with fevers, congestion, headaches, and nausea. Poor M… she hasn’t really had her mom much at all the last couple of weeks. I’m hoping our upcoming trip to San Francisco will give us some restorative time.

We leave tomorrow for Chicago. I decided to forgo the train in order to save time and money. Luckily I never mentioned taking a train to her, so she won’t know to be disappointed. She’s excited about the airplane, though. I’m just hoping my health is better and it doesn’t feel like torture to be out of bed the whole time. We are flying overnight to the west coast, and then taxi-ing to a hotel room until morning. Then we’ll spend the day in San Francisco before settling into my friend’s home west of Oakland for a good part of the week. She’s had a baby and I haven’t met him yet, so I’m excited about that. Hopefully her older son (age 2 1/2) and M will get along a little better than they did last year!

Leave a Reply

